Email List

To join our e-mail list, please enter your e-mail address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Shows

Sections

Classifieds

Directories

Contact

Opinion, California, Santa Monica, Education

Will UC At Last Face Up To Out-Of-State Student Dilemma?

Posted Nov. 23, 2014, 9:01 am

It’s a dilemma that University of California officials have long refused to confront, but one they may soon have to face: How many foreign and out-of-state students can UC absorb and still fulfill its mission of providing an elite education for the very best California high school graduates?

Opinion, California, Santa Monica, Government

Key Pension Question Unanswered In Stockton Ruling

Posted Nov. 23, 2014, 9:00 am

Politicians and public employees drawing pensions had high hopes they would get clarity on a key question from the federal bankruptcy judge presiding over the city of Stockton’s ongoing attempt to regain its financial health.

Susan Cloke, Columnist

Planning Commission, Development, Opinion, Santa Monica

What Say You? Santa Monica Residents & The Zoning Ordinance

Posted Nov. 22, 2014, 9:54 am

The Santa Monica Planning Commission, concerned about resident opposition to the current redline version of the proposed new zoning code, called a Town Hall Meeting at Lincoln Middle School for the evening of Wednesday, Nov. 19.

Opinion, Letters To The Editor, Santa Monica

Letter To The Editor: Pro-Ponies Petition Reaches Nearly 1,300 Signatures

Posted Nov. 22, 2014, 9:39 am

Dear Editor, I am the attorney representing Tawni Angel and her company in the lawsuit against the protestors at the Main Street Farmer’s Market, but this letter is not about the lawsuit. It’s about the ponies.

Opinion, Letters To The Editor, Santa Monica

Letter To The Editor: Council Should Act On Ride-Sharing Apps Before It’s Too Late

Posted Nov. 21, 2014, 9:37 am

Dear Editor, In 2011, the City Council passed the Santa Monica Taxi Franchise law that at the time took almost 300 rouge taxis off of our streets with the intent of making the streets safe for pedestrians especially near busy venues like the Third Street Promenade.

Opinion, Letters To The Editor, Santa Monica

Letter To The Editor: First Amendment Guarantees Freedom Of Speech

Posted Nov. 17, 2014, 9:53 am

Dear Editor, In the United States of America, and to an even stronger extent in the State of California, the First Amendment to our federal Constitution (and its state counterpart) guarantees freedom of speech.

Opinion, Letters To The Editor, Santa Monica, Santa Monica Airport

Letter To The Editor: After The Santa Monica Airport Vote, The Time Is Right

Posted Nov. 17, 2014, 9:47 am

Dear Editor, Thank you Santa Monica voters for seeing your way through the thick smoke of deceit blown over the city by the aviation interests' lobby groups. With 60 percent to 40 percent voting against the pro-Santa Monica Airport (SMO) Measure D and in favor of the City's Measure LC, the only thing simmering in smoke now is the more than $750,000 spent trying to fool Santa Monica voters.

Thomas B. Elias, Columnist

Opinion, California, Santa Monica, Government

Power Rate Shift: Utilities Seek To Soak Small Users

Posted Nov. 16, 2014, 9:08 am

A strong spotlight shines these days on the state Public Utilities Commission as it gets set to rule on how much the state’s biggest utilities will have to pay for their sometimes fatal blunders and how much consumers will be soaked for the negligence of utility executives.

Thomas B. Elias, Columnist

Opinion, California, Santa Monica

Who Needs A Political Party?

Posted Nov. 15, 2014, 9:18 am

Neither devoted Republicans nor dedicated Democrats are happy about one obvious message of this month’s election: At least in California, there’s no need at all to choose or join a political party.

Malibu, Opinion, Letters To The Editor, Election, Santa Monica, Smmusd, Politics

Letter To The Editor: Plea For Decency & Transparency Following SMMUSD Election

Posted Nov. 11, 2014, 9:34 am

Dear Editor, The elections are over, people are assessing failures and successes and preparing to move on. Before we do, let’s ask ourselves: In this age of rampant dirty politics how much of our integrity are we willing to sacrifice to win?

Steve Stajich, Columnist

Business, Opinion, Santa Monica, Columnist

There’s Sweeping & There’s Pushing

Posted Nov. 8, 2014, 8:38 am

I’m part of a generation that grew up understanding that lots of different things we ate back in the day came from a place called General Foods. Far from fearing or resenting that General Foods had a lot of stuff that its big corporate family pushed onto our own family (Grape Nuts to Jello), I think many people felt back then that it was a healthy thing for big companies to get bigger by absorbing smaller ones.

Opinion, California, Election

Logjam Ends, Replacing Barbara Boxer Could Be First Race Of New Era

Posted Nov. 5, 2014, 10:10 am

This year’s election is over, and the main Tuesday result in California was not the least bit surprising: Four more years of Gov. Jerry Brown working with a Democratic-dominated Legislature.

Opinion, California, Election

Big Bucks Too Much For Populist California Statewide Measures

Posted Nov. 5, 2014, 10:04 am

So much for populism. At least when it comes to fighting the interests of big-money corporations.

Bobby Shriver is candidate for L.A. County Supervisor (Third District) this Tuesday, Nov. 4.

Opinion, Election, Santa Monica

A Last Minute Chat With L.A. County Supervisor Candidate Bobby Shriver

Posted Nov. 3, 2014, 9:54 am

With all the mail that’s flooding mailboxes, all the robo calls jamming our phones and all the people knocking on doors, I’m can’t believe that there’s anyone in Santa Monica who doesn’t know about the upcoming election.

Thomas B. Elias, Columnist

Opinion, California, Santa Monica

Arnold Schwarzenegger's Real Estate Deal Haunts California

Posted Nov. 2, 2014, 9:09 am

When producers named a post-apocalyptic television series “The Walking Dead,” they probably had no idea that title also would come to describe one of the worst moves Arnold Schwarzenegger made in his seven years as California’s most amateurish governor ever.

Susan Cloke, Columnist

Opinion, Election, Santa Monica

State Senate Candidates Ben Allen, Sandra Fluke: Values, Campaigns & Finance Reform

Posted Nov. 1, 2014, 9:19 am

Elvis Presley’s “Money Honey” (which was definitely not about elections!) could well be the title of this election season in the United States. What was the Supreme Court thinking when, in the Citizens United ruling of 2010, they ended the ban on corporations and unions financing independent expenditure campaigns and allowed unlimited spending in support of the election or the defeat of individual candidates. So much for the sanctity of the Country’s sacred ballot.

Susan Cloke, Columnist

City Council, Opinion, Election, Santa Monica

Housing & Taxes: Fifth & Final Question For Santa Monica City Council Candidates

Posted Nov. 1, 2014, 9:14 am

The Santa Monica City Council members to be elected this Tuesday, Nov. 4 will be responsible for guiding and shaping the city. Their decisions will affect each of us in practical ways – such as our daily travel in the city; the number of parks we have and how they are used; how we spend the public dollar and the social benefits that can bring; and the image and character of new development in the City.

Opinion, Letters To The Editor, Election, Santa Monica, Santa Monica Airport

Letter To The Editor: How To Lose Control Of "Our Land"

Posted Oct. 30, 2014, 9:44 am

Dear Editor, The Yes on Measure LC Committee loudly complain that, if voters closed the airport under the terms of Measure D, nothing in that measure directly addresses the development process that would follow.

Opinion, Letters To The Editor, Election, Santa Monica

Letter To The Editor: Why You Should Vote No On Measures H, HH

Posted Oct. 30, 2014, 9:42 am

Dear Editor, According to campaign finance statements on file with the City Clerk, the majority of the funding for the Development Tax, aka H+HH campaign, are developers, their lawyers and architects who will reap financial rewards from the building of new high density low income rental housing projects throughout Santa Monica, primarily North of Wilshire and in Sunset Park.

Opinion, Letters To The Editor, Santa Monica

Letter To The Editor: Why I Support Measures H & HH

Posted Oct. 28, 2014, 9:36 am

Dear Editor: Why I support H & HH. Unlike some of my NE neighbors I support H and HH. Why, when this will mean I, a 33 year resident in Santa Monica, will have to pay considerably more transfer tax when I sell my home?

Opinion, Letters To The Editor, Santa Monica, Santa Monica Airport

Letter To The Editor: SMO & The Old North Bridge

Posted Oct. 28, 2014, 9:18 am

Dear Editor, I was born and raised in Concord, Massachusetts, the town where the American Revolution began. Maybe it's my attachment to my origins but I can't help but compare the defeat of measure D to Paul Revere's fateful ride and the Old North Bridge where American patriots made their famous stand.

Susan Cloke, Columnist

City Council, Opinion, Election, Santa Monica

Ethics: Fourth Question For Santa Monica City Council Candidates

Posted Oct. 25, 2014, 10:28 am

The Santa Monica Council City members to be elected on Nov. 4 will be responsible for guiding and shaping the city. Their decisions will affect each of us in practical ways – such as our daily travel in the city; the number of parks we have and how they are used; how we spend the public dollar and the social benefits that can bring; and the image and character of new development in the city.

Thomas B. Elias, Columnist

Opinion, California, Columnist

Propositions 45, 48: Two Obvious 'Yes' Votes

Posted Oct. 19, 2014, 9:26 am

It’s almost a foregone conclusion that the Proposition 1 water bond on next month’s ballot will pass easily: Every poll shows it with almost a 2-1 lead heading into the vote and the opposition has virtually no money for television commercials.

Opinion, Letters To The Editor, Santa Monica

Letter To The Editor: The Common Sense City

Posted Oct. 19, 2014, 8:49 am

Dear Editor, Every resident in our city has experienced frustration with some aspect or another of the city’s policies. Wonderful as it is, our city can improve in many different ways. What is needed is a common-sense approach, based on solving real-world problems. Some of these are physical and space-related issues. Others are related to the way projects are approved and built. Here are a few items we feel are important.

Susan Cloke, Columnist

Opinion, Election, Santa Monica

Santa Monica Airport: Third Question For City Council Candidates

Posted Oct. 18, 2014, 9:49 am

The Santa Monica City Council members to be elected on Nov. 4, 2014 will be responsible for guiding and shaping the city. Their decisions will affect each of us in practical ways – such as our daily travel in the city; the number of parks we have and how they are used; how we spend the public dollar and the social benefits that can bring; and the image and character of new development in the city.

Show more