Candidate Pools Begin To Take Shape For Local June 3 Primary Races

Sunday, 9 Mar 2014, 6:00:00 AM

Brenton Garen

As a formality, the filing period deadline for the June 3 primary election was extended from Friday until Wednesday for the 33rd Congressional District with incumbent Henry Waxman not seeking reelection.

For all races where an incumbent is not running, the filing period was extended until Wednesday to ensure there are plenty of qualified candidates.

Twenty-four people have been issued papers to run for the 33rd Congressional District seat being vacated by Waxman.

The Mirror will publish the full list of potential candidates for this seat next week.

The June 3 ballot will also include primaries for governor, seven other statewide offices, four seats on the Board of Equalization, all of California's 53 congressional seats, 20 of the 40 state Senate seats and all 80 seats in the Assembly.

The state and congressional offices will be contested under the “top two” system for the second time.

Under terms of Proposition 14, approved by voters in 2010, all candidates running for congressional, legislative and statewide offices, regardless of party, will appear on a single ballot. The top two finishers will advance to the November general election.

Proposition 14 also gives candidates the right to decline to have their party affiliations stated on the ballot.

Here is a look at the potential candidates for the seats relating to Santa Monica.

LA County Supervisor (Third District)

Eight people have been issued papers to run for LA County Supervisor (Third District) seat held by Zev Yaroslavsky (he is being termed out after holding the seat since 1994):

-- Pamela Conley Ulich (Attorney/Educator/Mother)

-- John Duran (West Hollywood Councilman/Business Owner)

-- Doug Fay (Environmentalist)

-- Yuval Daniel Kremer (Educator/Business Owner)

-- Sheila Kuehl (College Institute Director)

-- Rudy Melendez (Laborer/Artist)

-- Eric Preven (Citizen Watchdog)

-- Bobby Shriver (Nonprofit Director/Businessman)

The Third District includes Santa Monica as well as Beverly Hills, Calabasas, Hidden Hills, San Fernando, West Hollywood, Westlake Village, and a handful of unincorporated areas such as Agoura and Universal City.

50th Assembly District

Incumbent Richard Bloom (Democrat), who was first-elected in 2012, only has one challenger: West Hollywood Commissioner Brad Torgan (Republican).

Torgan lost in the June 2012 Primary to Bloom by 720 votes (1.15 percent of ballots cast), but that race also included Democrats Betsy Butler and Tory Osborn.

The 50th Assembly District comprises the communities of Agoura Hills, Bel Air, Beverly Hills, Brentwood, Hollywood, Malibu, Pacific Palisades, Santa Monica, Topanga, West Hollywood, and West Los Angeles.

26th State Senate

With State Senator Ted Lieu running for the 33rd Congressional seat, his Santa Monica and South Bay area is now up for grabs. Under redistricting, the new 26th State Senate seat covers most of the areas covered under Lieu's current 28th State Senate seat.

-- Ben Allen (School Board Member, Santa Monica-Malibu Unified School District - Dem)

-- Barbi S. Appelquist (Community Development Attorney - Dem)

-- Betsy Butler (Director, Non Profit Organization - Dem)

-- Sandra Fluke (Social Justice Attorney - Dem)

-- Amy Howorth (Mayor/Education Advocate - Dem)

-- Vito Imbasciani (Dem)

-- Seth Stodder (None)

-- Patric M. Verrone (Television Writer/Attorney - Dem)

The new 26th State Senate seat comprises the communities of Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, Marina del Rey, El Segundo, Redondo Beach, Manhattan Beach, and Palos Verdes.

Copyright © 2011 by Santa Monica Mirror. All rights reserved.