Critics’ Choice Movie Awards Presented In Santa Monica On Thursday

Saturday, 18 Jan 2014, 9:27:00 AM

Brenton Garen

Leonardo DiCaprio and Jonah Hill at the Critics' Choice Movie Awards held in Santa Monica on Thursday, Jan. 16.
Courtesy photo
Leonardo DiCaprio and Jonah Hill at the Critics' Choice Movie Awards held in Santa Monica on Thursday, Jan. 16.

The Broadcast Film Critics Association announced the winners

for the 19th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards on Thursday night live from the

Barker Hangar in Santa Monica.

The show aired on The CW Network

at 8 pm and was hosted by Aisha Tyler.

“Gravity” garnered seven wins for Best Director for Alfonso Cuarón,

Best Cinematography to Emmanuel Lubezki, Best Visual Effects, Best

Editing to Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger, Best Actress in An Action

Movie for Sandra Bullock, Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie and Best Score to

Steven Price.

The film set a record for most Critics’ Choice Movie Award

wins ever, topping  2010’s “Inception” and 2009’s “Avatar,” which both

had six wins.

“American Hustle” took home four awards, for Best Comedy, Best Acting

Ensemble, Best Hair and Makeup and Best Actress in a Comedy for Amy


“12 Years a Slave” claimed three for Best Picture, as well as

Best Supporting Actress for Lupita Nyong’o and Best Adapted Screenplay

for John Ridley.

“The Great Gatsby” won two: Best Art Direction for

Catherine Martin (Production Designer) and Beverley Dunn (Set Decorator)

and Best Costume Design for Catherine Martin.

“Dallas Buyers Club” received two major awards, one for Best Actor,

which went to Matthew McConaughey, the other going to Jared Leto for

Best Supporting Actor.

The award for Best Actress went to Cate Blanchett

(“Blue Jasmine”) and Adele Exarchopoulos (“Blue is the Warmest Color”)

took home Best Young Actor/Actress.

Leonardo DiCaprio took home an award for his role in “The Wolf of Wall Street” as Best Actor in a Comedy.

“Frozen” was awarded Best Animated Feature and Best Song for “Let It

Go.” Two awards also went to “Lone Survivor” for Best Action Movie and

Best Actor in an Action Movie for Mark Wahlberg.

Additional winners

include Best Original Screenplay to Spike Jonze for “Her,” Best Foreign

Language Film to “Blue Is the Warmest Color” and Best Documentary

Feature to “20 Feet From Stardom.”

As previously announced, Oprah Winfrey presented the Joel Siegel

Award to Forest Whitaker for using his celebrity platform to do good

works for others.

Matthew McConaughey presented the “Before” trilogy

principals, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke, and Richard Linklater with the

LOUIS XIII Genius Award, for their “unprecedented demonstration of

excellence in the cinematic arts.”


Best Picture – “12 Years a Slave”

Best Actor – Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Actress – Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”

Best Supporting Actor – Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Supporting Actress – Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Young Actor/Actress – Adele Exarchopoulos, “Blue Is The Warmest Color”

Best Acting Ensemble – “American Hustle”

Best Director – Alfonso Cuarón, “Gravity”

Best Original Screenplay – Spike Jonze, “Her”

Best Adapted Screenplay – John Ridley, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Cinematography – Emmanuel Lubezki, “Gravity”

Best Art Direction – Catherine Martin (Production Designer), Beverley Dunn (Set Decorator), “The Great Gatsby”

Best Editing – Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger, “Gravity”

Best Costume Design – Catherine Martin, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Hair & Makeup – “American Hustle”

Best Visual Effects – “Gravity”

Best Animated Feature – “Frozen”

Best Action Movie – “Lone Survivor”

Best Actor in an Action Movie – Mark Wahlberg, “Lone Survivor”

Best Actress in an Action Movie – Sandra Bullock, “Gravity”

Best Comedy – “American Hustle”

Best Actor in a Comedy – Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Best Actress in a Comedy – Amy Adams, “American Hustle”

Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie – “Gravity”

Best Foreign Language Film – “Blue Is the Warmest Color”

Best Documentary Feature – “20 Feet From Stardom”

Best Song – “Let It Go” Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez, “Frozen”

Best Score – Steven Price, “Gravity”

Copyright © 2011 by Santa Monica Mirror. All rights reserved.