2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards Today In Santa Monica

Friday, 24 Feb 2012, 11:27:00 PM

Brenton Garen

Seth Rogen will serve as host for the 2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards today in Santa Monica.

The 27th annual awards ceremony will be held as a daytime luncheon in a tent on the beach and the premiere broadcast will air at 7 p.m. tonight.

Film Independent is the non-profit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards.

“We’re incredibly excited to have Seth as the host for the 2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards and join us in celebrating this year’s exquisite films and talented filmmaking artists. Seth’s charm, intelligence and quick wit are sure to light up the room and will make for a truly entertaining afternoon,” said Film Independent Senior Director Sean Mc Manus.


BEST FEATURE (Award given to the Producer, Executive Producers are not listed)

50/50 -- Producers: Evan Goldberg, Ben Karlin, Seth Rogen

Beginners -- Producers: Miranda de Pencier, Lars Knudsen, Leslie Urdang, Dean Vanech, Jay Van Hoy

Drive -- Producers: Michel Litvak, John Palermo, Marc Platt, Gigi Pritzker, Adam Siegel

Take Shelter -- Producers: Tyler Davidson, Sophia Lin

The Artist -- Producer: Thomas Langmann

The Descendants -- Producers: Jim Burke, Alexander Payne, Jim Taylor


Michel Hazanavicius -- The Artist

Mike Mills -- Beginners

Jeff Nichols -- Take Shelter

Alexander Payne -- The Descendants

Nicolas Winding Refn -- Drive


Joseph Cedar -- Footnote

Michel Hazanavicius -- The Artist

Tom McCarthy -- Win Win

Mike Mills -- Beginners

Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon, Jim Rash -- The Descendants

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)

Another Earth -- Director: Mike Cahill

Producers: Mike Cahill, Hunter Gray, Brit Marling, Nicholas Shumaker

In the Family -- Director: Patrick Wang

Producers: Robert Tonino, Andrew van den Houten, Patrick Wang

Margin Call -- Director: J.C. Chandor

Producers: Robert Ogden Barnum, Michael Benaroya, Neal Dodson, Joe Jenckes, Corey Moosa, Zachary Quinto

Martha Marcy -- May Marlene Director: Sean Durkin

Producers: Antonio Campos, Patrick Cunningham, Chris Maybach, Josh Mond

Natural Selection -- Director: Robbie Pickering

Producers: Brion Hambel, Paul Jensen


Mike Cahill, Brit Marling -- Another Earth

J.C. Chandor -- Margin Call

Patrick deWitt -- Terri

Phil Johnston -- Cedar Rapids

Will Reiser -- 50/50

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD - Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director, and producer. Executive Producers are not listed

Bellflower -- Writer/Director: Evan Glodell

Producers: Evan Glodell, Vincent Grashaw

Circumstance -- Writer/Director: Maryam Keshavarz

Producers: Karin Chien, Maryam Keshavarz, Melissa M. Lee

Hello Lonesome -- Writer/Director/Producer: Adam Reid

Pariah -- Writer/Director: Dee Rees

Producer: Nekisa Cooper

The Dynamiter -- Writer: Brad Inglesby

Director: Matthew Gordon

Producers: Kevin Abrams, Matthew Gordon, Merilee Holt, Art Jones, Mike Jones, Nate Tuck, Amile Wilson


Lauren Ambrose -- Think of Me

Rachael Harris -- Natural Selection

Adepero -- Oduye Pariah

Elizabeth Olsen -- Martha Marcy May Marlene

Michelle Williams -- My Week with Marilyn


Demián Bichir -- A Better Life

Jean Dujardin -- The Artist

Ryan Gosling -- Drive

Woody Harrelson -- Rampart

Michael Shannon -- Take Shelter


Jessica Chastain -- Take Shelter

Anjelica Huston -- 50/50

Janet McTeer -- Albert Nobbs

Harmony Santana -- Gun Hill Road

Shailene Woodley -- The Descendants


Albert Brooks -- Drive

John Hawkes -- Martha Marcy May Marlene

Christopher Plummer -- Beginners

John C. Reilly -- Cedar Rapids

Corey Stoll -- Midnight in Paris


Joel Hodge -- Bellflower

Benjamin Kasulke -- The Off Hours

Darius Khondji -- Midnight in Paris

Guillaume Schiffman -- The Artist

Jeffrey Waldron -- The Dynamiter

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)

An African Election -- Director/Producer: Jarreth Merz

Bill Cunningham New York Director: Richard Press

Producer: Philip Gefter

The Interrupters -- Director/Producer: Steve James

Producer: Alex Kotlowitz

The Redemption of General Butt Naked -- Director/Producers: Eric Strauss, Daniele Anastasion

We Were Here -- Director/Producer: David Weissman

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)

A Separation --

(Iran) Director: Asghar Farhadi

Melancholia --

(Denmark/Sweden/France/Germany) Director: Lars von Trier

Shame --

(UK) Director: Steve McQueen

The Kid With a Bike --

(Belgium/France/Italy) Directors: Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Luc Dardenne

Tyrannosaur --

(UK) Director: Paddy Considine


The 15th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

Chad Burris -- Mosquita y Mari

Sophia Lin -- Take Shelter

Josh Mond -- Martha Marcy May Marlene


The 18th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Simon Arthur -- Silver Tongues

Mark Jackson -- Without

Nicholas Ozeki -- Mamitas


The 17th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Heather Courtney -- Where Soldiers Come From

Danfung Dennis -- Hell and Back Again

Alma Har’el -- Bombay Beach


(Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)

Margin Call -- Director: J.C. Chandor

Casting Director: Tiffany Little Canfield, Bernard Telsey

Ensemble Cast: Penn Badgley, Simon Baker, Paul Bettany, Jeremy Irons, Mary McDonnell, Demi Moore, Zachary Quinto, Kevin Spacey, Stanley Tucci

Copyright © 2011 by Santa Monica Mirror. All rights reserved.