LA Marathon's Winners

Wednesday, 17 Mar 2010, 5:00:00 PM

Staff Report

Margaret Molloy

1. After crossing the finish line Ocean Avenue at Santa Monica Boulevard in Santa Monica, runners of the 2010 LA Marathon were greeted with heat-blankets, drinks, food and other rewards before descending down the Santa Monica Pier to the Finish Line Party.

Kenyan runner Wesley Korir, won the men's race for the second year in a row, in a time of 2:09:19.

Kenyan Edna Kiplagat won the women's field at the L.A. Marathon in a time of 2:25:38.

Some of the 25,000 runners who participated in (and sold out) this years marathon approach the finish line. The sellout of total allowable runners also marked a 45 percent increase of runners from those who participated last year. Some of them (the handi-capped participants) crossed the finish line before the much-publicized winners, some of them (non-professionals) crossed hours after the winners: But all were cheered on by a crowd that packed the sidewalks down the final stretch of the race into the iconic Santa Monica beachfront.

Copyright © 2011 by Santa Monica Mirror. All rights reserved.