Email List

To join our e-mail list, please enter your e-mail address. You can unsubscribe at any time.






The Santa Monica City Council race will feature 14 candidates, vying for the four open seats on Nov. 6.
Mirror Archives
The Santa Monica City Council race will feature 14 candidates, vying for the four open seats on Nov. 6.

News, Election, Santa Monica

Santa Monica City Council Race: 14 Candidates To Battle For Four Seats

Posted Aug. 21, 2012, 5:40 am

Brenton Garen / Editor-in-Chief

The Santa Monica City Council race on Nov. 6 will feature 14 candidates vying for four open seats.

The City Clerk’s office confirmed to The Mirror that the ballot has been finalized and the following candidates will appear when Santa Monica residents go to the polls later this year:

- John Cyrus Smith

- Jerry Rubin

- Steve Duron

- Frank Gruber

- Gleam Olivia Davis

- Shari Davis

- Roberto Gomez

- Ted Winterer

- Robert Seldon

- Terry O’Day

- Tony Vazquez

- Terence Later

- Jonathan Mann

- Richard McKinnon

A total of 20 people pulled papers, but not all candidates returned their papers.

The first to drop out of the race was Steven Senft, Jon Beau Lee, and Fred Lotterly. This trio did not submit their petitions before last Wednesday’s extended deadline.

A further three candidates submitted petitions, but did not qualify: Michael Shaver, Linda Armstrong, and Armen Melkonians.

To qualify, the LA County Registrar office had to verify each candidate's petition had at least 100 registered Santa Monica voters sign each of their petitions. However, a registered voter can only sign four petitions and the registrar invalidated any signatures submitted after the first four.

There are four open seats: two held by incumbents Gleam Davis and Terry O'Day. The other two seats are currently held by Mayor Richard Bloom who is running for the 50th Assembly District and Bobby Shriver who chose not to seek re-election.

Related Coverage:

Six Candidates Set For SMMUSD School Board Race

Three Rent Control Board Candidates To Battle For Two Seats

Three SMC Board Of Trustees Candidates Elected Unopposed

Post a comment


SM Mirror TV